My ’empty’ Fridge

14/01/2013 § Leave a comment

SONY DSC

 

‘Empty fridge’, I thought to myself. I was hungry, cold, tired and to top it off I had ‘no food’ in the house. I sat down and contemplated braving the cold weather to go and get some food or waiting it out until I HAD to leave the house to go to work, and grabbing something on the way, ‘kill two birds with one stone’ and all that. I tried to wait it out seeing as the weather wasn’t exactly appealing but I couldn’t enjoy my time relaxing whilst I was hungry now could I?

I looked through my fridge once more and to my delight, found a pack of chicken thigh fillets. Lovely, it was a start I guess. I decided to start browning these off and to see where my mind took me. Adding a few onions, some paprika, cayenne pepper, a little chicken stock, I was onto something good here! The final dish was a beautiful and rich tomato and chicken curry affair, which I happily munched down with a few flat breads, homemade of course!

Paprika Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 6 chicken thigh fillets (cut into bite size pieces)
  • 2 onions (sliced)
  • 500ml chicken stock
  • 330ml chopped tomatoes (around a tin)
  • 100ml Crème fraîche
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • thumb sized piece of ginger, grated
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • half a teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • handful of chopped coriander
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  1. First off in a large pan, brown the chicken pieces until slightly browned, remove from the pan and set aside.
  2. In the same pan, cook the onions and garlic until soft, around 5 minutes should do.
  3. Add the spices, ginger and season with salt and pepper and cook for 2 minutes, stirring so the spices don’t burn.
  4. Return the chicken to the pan and add the warm chicken stock and chopped tomatoes. Simmer for 25 minutes.
  5. After 25 minutes add the Crème fraîche and continue to cook for another 15 minutes on a low heat.
  6.  When ready to serve, sprinkle chopped coriander on top and enjoy, even better with some cardamom flat breads! *https://everythingfoody.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/cardamom/
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell me what you think

What’s this?

You are currently reading My ’empty’ Fridge at everythingfoody.

meta

