Vanilla and Nutmeg Fudge

22/02/2013 § Leave a comment

SONY DSC

First things first, I want to apologise for my lack of posts over the last few days. I have been slaving away at work doing some crazy hours and I started to feel I didn’t have the energy to post anything. Now things have calmed down, I can post all I like, with things like these beautiful melt in the mouth fudge pieces, flavoured with nutmeg and vanilla!

I first tried making fudge around christmas last year. I originally made it only using vanilla but when I tasted it I felt like it needed something more. I had a few extra spices hanging around from the other things I had been cooking up, so decided to through some nutmeg in there along with it. After several attempts of balancing out how much I actually used, I found the perfect amount. These are simple, easy to make, all they take is a little time and attention…and a sugar thermometer. Trust me, these are worth it!

Ingredients:

  • 300ml milk
  • 350g caster sugar
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • half a teaspoon vanilla paste/ 1 vanilla pod, seeds scraped out
  • 1 teaspoon ground fresh nutmeg, around half the nut
  1. Add the milk, sugar and butter to a heavy bottomed saucepan; I used a crock pot, over a low heat. Slowly stirring all the time, bring the mixture up to the boil. It helps to use a sugar thermometer here.
  2. Boil the mixture for 15-20 minutes, be sure to stir slowly all the time. It should all start to come together and turn a very pale brown.
  3. At this point, I find it best to add the nutmeg and vanilla to the mixture and let it cook out for a further minute
  4. Turn up the heat slightly until it reaches 117c, this is known as the ‘soft ball’ stage. As soon as it reaches this point, take it off the heat and allow to cool for around 1-2 minutes, don’t allow it to harden too much though, you want it still moveable and smooth.
  5. Beat the mixture with a plastic spatula until the gloss starts to fade, and it starts to look like fudge. Around 3 minutes of mixing should be plenty.
  6. Pour the mixture into an 18cm tin that has been oiled and allow to cool for 2 hours, do NOT put it in the fridge, just put it on a tea towel on the side. After it has cool, flip it out onto the side and cut it into pieces.

As always, it would be great to hear from you in the comments, if you have any questions please ask away!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell me what you think

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vanilla and Nutmeg Fudge at everythingfoody.

meta

