Blueberry Flaugnarde

01/03/2013 § Leave a comment

SONY DSC

So I had an idea in my head to make a post about a cherry clafoutis today. Me and my girlfriend both agreed that we wanted it for a late lunch, so off I popped to the shops to get my cherries.
But as I got to the fruit section I was greeted by a ‘sold out’ sign right where the cherries should have been. Sighing to myself I wondered what I could use instead, rhubarb would surely fall apart, strawberries would collapse, but blueberries would work…right?! After picking up a couple of packs of blueberries I headed home to get going with this new recipe I was praying would work.

After marinating my blueberries in a little sugar and lemon juice, i got started on the batter. All going to plan so far! After mixing everything together and popping it in the oven, I began the long wait to see if it would actually work, AND SURE AS HELL IT DID! It was the nicest thing I had ever eaten desert wise. Imagine the most moist sponge cake filled with fresh hot berries, and this is pretty much what you get. I just had to share this because it was simply beautiful. Here is what you need!

Ingredients:

For marinating the blueberries

  • 400g blueberries
  • 15g sugar
  • half the juice of a lemon

For lining the flan dish

  • 15g melted butter
  • 45g caster sugar

For the batter mixture

  • 100g plain flour
  • 3 whole eggs
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 90g caster sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • teaspoon of vanilla paste
  • 160ml milk
  • 160ml single cream
  • 70g unsalted butter
  • zest of 1 lemon
  1. First things first, marinate the blueberries with the sugar and lemon juice in a large bowl for around 1-2 hours, just until the sugar goes clear and the juices are starting to run.
  2. After the berries have marinated turn the oven to 180c and butter your flan dish and sprinkle in the sugar and coat thoroughly. This creates a beautiful crust after it has been cooked. Leave to one side.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, add the flour and make a well in the centre. In a separate bowl mix together the eggs, egg yolk, sugar, vanilla paste, salt and lemon zest until smooth, then add it to the flour and whisk together until you have a smooth batter.
  4. Melt the remaining butter in a small saucepan until its light brown in colour and starts to smell slightly nutty. Remove from the heat and set aside.
  5. Add the cream to the egg and flour mixture and whisk in, then add the milk and whisk in, then finish with the melted butter.
  6. Pour the blueberries into the flan dish and make sure they are evenly spread out. Pour over the batter carefully, trying not to disturb the blueberries, leave about 1 cm from the top to allow some rise.
  7. Put it in the middle shelf of your oven over a baking tray (incase the juices overflow during cooking, they shouldn’t but just incase) and cook for 30-35 minutes, just until the centre is cooked. A toothpick should come out clean when place in the centre. The sides should be lightly browned and the blueberries should be slightly burst and blistered. Allow to cool for 5 minutes and serve with single cream.

There you have it, I will admit to finishing the whole thing in 1 day. I’m not ashamed, it’s too good to leave for later! If you somehow manage to keep some leftover, it can be reheated in the oven for a few minutes until lukewarm and will keep for just over a day. Tell me what you think, I do hope you make this, as it is incredible!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell me what you think

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blueberry Flaugnarde at everythingfoody.

meta

